AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

My Goo Story

11K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  KBK 
#1 ·
I have been Hometheater-ing for the last two years. I got started with an avsforum favorite projector of about two years ago, the Panasonic 711XU LCD PJ. The PJ has done well for me, but as of late I have become more and more dissatisfied with the greyish blacks on many darker movies and HDTV network TV shows (such as ABCs ALIAS). At the moment I didnt want to spend the money to replace the PJ, so I started looking at screen upgrade options to maximize the hardware I have.

My Setup:

HT is in my basement with good but not total blackout light control. I can turn off all lights and shade the one window, but the ceiling is white and the carpeting is a light tan. Walls are a dark brown wood paneling.

HTPC (Windows XP SP1, Radeon 9000 Catalyst 3.7 drivers, Revolution sound card)

Zoomplayer (Sonic 1.51 video and windvd 5 audio filters)

Panasonic L711XU LCD 1024x768, 1600 lums, 400:1 CR projector

Previous screen: DIY Glidden Universal Grey painted 80x45 screen. See my review and experiences with my previous screen here:

http://archive2.avsforum.com/avs-vb/...eyhawk+glidden

Research:

I fairly quickly settled on Screen Goo as my next DIY screen option. Goo Systems recently started listing distributors and dealers on their web site. One is in the USA in the metro DC area and close by. I have seen various postings on the different colors/flavors of Goo. I sent an email to KBK and he recommended Digital Grey for my setup. One of my primary objectives was to enhance black level. So I wanted to go as dark grey as I could. Also I did some calculations that confirmed for me that I have enough light output to be happy with Digital Grey:

Panny 711XU LCD PJ 1600 lumens output

Usually operated in econo mode @ 20% derating (panasonic spec sheet)